IGNORED

Do you use decoys?

mowin

When I first started turkey hunting, I used deeks often.  Never found them to be very effective, and often had tom's spook or get nervous once they spotted the deeks.  I also hate dragging them around.  Good friend purchased the Avain-X deeks and wow are those expensive. They look fantastic, but trying to carry 3 of these plus a gun has to be a PITA.  I sometimes carry a fan, but for the most part I go deek-less. 

Did have a hen come strutting into a deek, and give it a good kick.  She stuck around for 15min making a racket, but never dragged up a tom. 

I'm no expert turkey hunter.  But, i've been using Avian X dekes and i'm a fan.  I have two hens and a jake, but usually only carry a single hen.  I can't say that the Toms i've killed came in because of the deke, or the calling.  I've never had one hang up and look like the deke freaked him out.  I have shot a few before they came all the way in to the deke- wasn't sure if they would hang up.  I set the deke up about 20 yards out in case they do hang up.  With Longbeard XR and the Carlson choke, i've had no trouble killing birds at 60 yards.  The Avian deke deflates and fits into my pack without much trouble.

With you spooked way more with decoys vs not having them. But im  a woods / roost hunter.  Birds show up in range and cant see a decoy from.far away.. maybe they work in fields??  For me  personally i have about 5 collecting dust  in the barn..  a couple of pull  string motion decoys . Feather flex on post. And even one on a track that struts back n forth..   useless imo.

I use a Decoy less then 10% of the time. I upgraded to the Grind/Feeding Hen which goes for 70 Bucks or so. About 50 less then the Avian x. 

I have shot maybe 4 Toms that came to the Decoy including a 23lber that came in with 2 Hens and 5 Jake's to a Feather Flex that,I painted Orange. 

Take The Multiple Use Area Challenge.