IGNORED

DIY calf hutch deer blind

Posted (edited)

Has anyone tried making a ground blind using a calf hutch? I've been thinking about this for awhile as it seems more durable than a pop up blind. I have a few rhino blinds and it's always a nuisance to have to spend an afternoon setting them up and taking them back out at the end of the season. 

I could get a hutch for $50.. clean it. Then the idea would be to set it on a short framed wall (maybe 2 ft?) to give it a little more head room.  I could cut in windows where needed. I'm not sure if I'd try to fabricate a door or just leave it open. I'd wrap the framed knee wall with plywood and then paint the whole thing. It wouldn't be fancy by any means, but seems like a fun little project to build a new blind.  

Here's an idea of what I have in mind. You'll have to excuse the crude drawing, I'm not an artist. 

image.png.be4e2150ffd45d03dbf422314a793a71.png

calf 1.PNG

calf 2.PNG

calf 3.PNG

Edited by Bolt Action
typo

Why not.  I've seen pics of IBC totes made into ground blinds. They stacked one upside down on the bottom one and cut in a back door and some shooting windows.  Not sure how they had them latched together, but that's simple enough.  Set of forks on the tractor and you can move it around easily. No forks, easy enough to tip it onto the truck or trailer. 

12 minutes ago, Bolt Action said:

Has anyone tried making a ground blind using a calf hutch? I've been thinking about this for awhile as it seems more durable than a pop up blind. I have a few rhino blinds and it's always a nuisance to have to spend an afternoon setting them up and taking them back out at the end of the season.