IGNORED

Truck question?

Swamp_bucks

Looking at getting a truck later this spring.  I do have a camper that’s 22’ and weighs about 6000lbs.  However we found a camp site in pa to park it year round.  So I don’t need a truck for hauling the camper for the next few years.  I have a friend who’s hauling it there for me. 

I’ve been looking at GMC, Chevy and Dodge they all have a bunch in my price range but most are v6s.  Are the newer 6s strong enough to pull a camper of that size when the time comes? If we do leave that place we would most likely stay in a 2hr radius of our home. 

I don’t want to get a truck that’s a huge gas guzzler if I’m not constantly hauling but I need something that can still pull if needed.  I’m making sure whatever I get does have the trailer package built in. Open to any suggestions.  Currently the Chevy customs and trail bosses are peaking my interest. 

Edited by Swamp_bucks

I have no experience with the chevy or dodge 6s.

My work truck is a f150 with the 3.5l v6 ecoboost. I would take that all day long over my personal truck, a chevy 1500 with 5.3l v8. Amazes me how well it will pull a load. I've had over 14000 #s behind it a few times.  Dang loader operators at the quarry can't tell the difference between 3 ton and 6 some days. Lol

There is a big difference between a full size PU with a V6 (like the F150 referenced above with the Ecoboost) and a mid-size pickup with the same engine.

I personally would not haul a trailer of that size with a Ranger with a V6 for instance.   I like the Ranger, but the vehicle is much lighter and would be concerned about swaying.

Just my opinion, but have owned a lot of different trucks of different sizes over the year (Chevy, Dodge, Ford).   i currently have an F250 diesel and think it is the best truck I have ever owned.

14 minutes ago, Wildcat said: